right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We’ve got a new look! Walk through the key updates here.

Decision Time

MountainGoat90MountainGoat90 16 replies15 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 31 Junior Member
So far I've been accepted to: UNR, UMass Amherst, UVermont, Utah State, Washington State, Penn State, Purdue University, and Oregon State. I'm waiting to hear back from UC Davis and Cornell. Of these, which college do you think I should go to? I'm majoring in sustainable agriculture and I want to go somewhere with seasons and outdoorsy activities (like hiking :)). Also, I've pretty much decided that UNR, Washington State, and Penn State are off of the list.
9 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Decision Time

• happymomof1happymomof1 29305 replies169 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 29,474 Senior Member
    Wait until all of the offers are in, then run them through the Award Letter comparison calculator at finaid.org. Once you've seen how the numbers stack up, some of these will fall off your list.
    · Reply · Share
  • juilletjuillet 12575 replies160 discussionsSuper Moderator Posts: 12,735 Super Moderator
    edited January 2018
    Where do you live? I agree that this comparison is difficult to do without numbers; it doesn't necessarily make sense, for example, to pay full OOS price for UMass-Amherst or Purdue if you can go to Oregon State at in-state prices.

Why is Washington State off the list?

All of these places have seasons and outdoorsy activities nearby. Cornell is the most prestigious of them, but that doesn't necessarily mean you should go there. Some of them are going to offer slightly different experiences - Purdue and WSU have more of the school spirit/D1 sports culture than some of the other ones. Your outdoorsy experience will also be quite different in the Midwest than the PNW.
    edited January 2018
    Post edited by juillet on
    · Reply · Share