right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Which college do I have the best chance at?

luca2fishluca2fish 10 replies4 threads New Member
Right now I am trying to select which college to apply to for Early Decision 1. So far I have:
Vassar
Middlebury
Swarthmore
Haverford
Amherst
Williams
Macalester

These are all reach, but ED will hopefully get me a little edge on RD.
I'm a homeschooled student with some AP courses, many honors courses, and duel enrollment courses on my transcript with a 3.9 GPA. I have many extra curricular activities, such as Internships, volunteer hours, clubs, and sports (Unique ones like martial arts and bowling).
I'm writing an few essays, one on how travelling the world has impacted my life and one on how bowling affects me more than most. I will be choosing one soon.

The main thing holding me back is my SAT scores. I have a 700 writing and a 590 math. I have taken AP calc in sophomore year and I did well in the course (so maybe the college could disregard the low math sat score). I simply don't test well when it comes to SAT math. I'm taking the ACT next Saturday to compare, but I don't expect the scores to differ much.

My question is, which of the schools that I've listed do I have the best chance at? Which school relies on SAT scores the least, and which has the least amount of homeschoolers? (If that's even something I could find out). I realize that given the information, you would be generalizing heavily. But any info is useful. Thanks so much.

P.S. I'm from Florida.
24 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Which college do I have the best chance at?

• Techno13Techno13 224 replies8 threads Junior Member