right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
GUEST STUDENT OF THE WEEK: Rohan is a freshman at Dartmouth (and loves it) having gotten in ED for the Class of 2023. He's here to debunk myths regarding admissions and student life at his school. ASK HIM ANYTHING!
Make sure to check out our May Checklists for HS Juniors and HS Seniors. Consult these quick resources to get you started on the process this month.
As we work to adjust to the current reality, make sure to check out these dedicated COVID-19 resources: our directory of virtual campus tours, our directory of extended deadlines, as well as the list of schools going test optional this fall.

Top student did not get any desired college

khumankhuman 2 replies1 threads New Member
I am a student of Asian descent in Texas
Top student in the class-GPA of 4.0 (weighted GPA 4.6)
Several awards-including 2 scholarships, award for top student in class, Presidential award
SAT-1550
Was involved in a major charity organization and raised funds for it.
Got rejected from Northwestern, Princeton, Rice, Emory, Cornell, Duke, Yale, Casewestern
I am still at a loss why
Is it my asian descent? Is it because I was in a Hispanic dominated school. Several of the Hispanics in my school have got admission into a University of their choice, which includes several Ivy League schools. I have no problem with them getting into these top Universities, I just can't figure out why I didn't get a single of my top choices
Have got wait listed at Northwestern and Cornell-does anyone know what are my chances? Will my race play a role in getting one of the waitlisted spots?
104 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Top student did not get any desired college

• austinmshauriaustinmshauri 9735 replies371 threads Senior Member
    Those are all selective schools. Where were you accepted? Are any of those options affordable?
    · Reply · Share
  • parentologistparentologist 207 replies19 threads Junior Member