right arrow
GUEST STUDENT OF THE WEEK: ak2018 is a rising junior at Virginia Tech having transferred from George Mason University. He'll answer any question, including about his studies abroad or his research at NASA. ASK HIM ANYTHING!
Make sure to check out our July Checklists for HS Juniors and HS Seniors. Consult these quick resources to get you started on the process this month.
As we work to adjust to the current reality, make sure to check out these dedicated COVID-19 resources: our directory of virtual campus tours, our directory of extended deadlines, as well as the list of schools going test optional this fall.

University of California Santa Cruz vs University of Michigan Ann Arbor- Transfer CS

user_678320user_678320 5 replies2 threads New Member
Hi there! I'm a transfer student in-state to California and was accepted to UMich LSA and UCSC both as a transfer student to computer science, and I'm having an awful time deciding. Prior to this decision, I went to a tiny school in the middle of nowhere in Washington State and left due to seasonal depression, overwork, and nothing to do in the city. Something I very much miss was the academics, though, in which I learned more than I have for the rest of my life combined.

Time: (No preference) I think I could complete a degree at UCSC within a year and a half. Umich would take me two years. This is not a big factor for me as I kind of would like to experience the campus for a while anyway.

Cost: (Prefer UCSC) Finishing my degree at UCSC would amount to about $23,000 of tuition. Michigan, on the other hand, would take around $110,000 of tuition. I'm receiving no grants worth of financial aid and would graduate with around $20,000 in debt after Michigan. This is a very big deal for me.