Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Need Urgent College/Application Advice!

tsarlestsarles Registered User Posts: 15 New Member
edited October 2009 in College Search & Selection
Hey guys,

I'm an international school student studying in Hong Kong and applying for fall 2010. I recently took the SAT I's in October with high hopes only to be horribly disappointed when I received a 1860 (CR:700 M:600 W:560).

I'm kind of stuck in an awkward situation, here are my choices:

1) Take SAT II's in December, apply with 1860
2) Standby SAT I's in December (centers full), apply to schools which only require SAT I's
3) Take SAT II's in December, Re-sit Sat I's Jan (Too late for some schools)

If i re-sit SAT I's, I'm 100% sure I can get a score between 2050-2150.
SAT II's I'm hoping for 600-700 each subject.

Heres my profile:

IB Score: 37/42 (Approx. weighted GPA: 4.2+)

Major: Film (UC and USC), Business, Communications,

I can write solid essays and have pretty impressive recommendations.

ECs: President of the Student Council, Student representative on the School Council, Environmental Management Committee - 2 years, School Rugby Team - 4 years, Taught English to Students in China, Worked in a Laboratory as an assistant, MUN, Various charity concerts, 24 Hour Charity Sailing and Pedal-Kart races, many more.

College List (In order of preference):
USC
UCLA (SAT II'S Required)
U Chicago
Northwestern
U Michigan
NYU(SAT II'S Required)
UCSD(SAT II'S Required)
Penn State