right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We have changed the way we log in on College Confidential. Read more here.

ED 2024: Chance Me

mynewhobbymynewhobby 2 replies1 threads New Member
Objective:
SAT I (breakdown): 1440 (750 M, 690 R)
SAT II: 780 on Math II, 760 Spanish, 740 Chemistry
Unweighted GPA (out of 4.0): 4.0
Weighted GPA: 4.46
Rank (percentile if rank is unavailable): N/A
AP (place score in parenthesis): Bio 4, World History 5, Chem 4, US History 3, Calc BC 5, Lang 4, Spanish 5
IB (place score in parenthesis): N/A
Senior Year Course Load: AP Studio Art, AP Microeconomics, AP US Gov and Politics, College Application Seminar, French III, French IV, AP Psychology, AP Comparative Government and Politics, AP English Literature and Composition
Major Awards (USAMO, Intel etc.):
42nd at PACE NSC (school group at QuizBowl), 2nd Place for Research Project on Opioid Epidemic presented to local hospital, 3rd Place for Project on STEM Cell Applications presented to local hospital, MVP for Freshman QuizBowl team, MVP for Junior Varsity QuizBowl Team (this is all I put on my app)

Subjective:

Extracurriculars (place leadership in parenthesis):
NHS (Co-president),
Young Leaders in Health Care (president),
School Fashion Magazine (Writer and Editor)
QuizBowl (Team Captain for Varsity Team)
Ballet
Fashion Design
Assistant Director of Local Community Building School (fundraised $1000's for local charities)

Job/Work Experience: tutor 2 kids in Math and Spanish and college kids in English and Chemistry

Volunteer/Community service: hospital four hours a week

Summer Activities: College classes (physics and French) at BU after Sophomore year, volunteering at the hospital, fashion design portfolio, ballet

Essays (rating 1-10, details): 9.25, they were very heartfelt, and I had a high profile counselor/reader to help out

Recommendations (rating 1-10, details):

Teacher Rec #1: 7.25, Bio teacher I've known for all four years of HS, she was the teacher adviser of one of my clubs, she likes me

Teacher Rec #2: 9.5, French teacher, she told me that I make her day whenever I'm happy

Counselor Rec: 9, I lead a LGBTQ+ support group with her

Additional Rec: Director of the local Community Building School who I have worked under for all four years of HS


Other

Applied for Financial Aid?: No
Intended Major: Spanish and French
State (if domestic applicant): CA
Country (if international applicant):
School Type: medium competitive public
Ethnicity: Middle Eastern
Gender: Male
Income Bracket: high
Hooks (URM, first generation college, etc.): Queer, male ballet dancer, conservative Middle Eastern family and had to come out as gay

Two art portfolios: Dance and Fashion Design (they were strong portfolios according to my advisers)
0 replies
· Reply · Share
Sign In or Register to comment.

Recent Activity