Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

CC California

KelsenKelsen Registered User Posts: 35 Junior Member
edited April 2012 in Community Colleges
Hi guys,

I'd wanted to ask you a little bit, what do you think about my situation, getting accepted in a CC in California. Im an International Student from Austria, and I'd like to apply to some good CC in the CA area like SMC, SB, De Anza or Mt. San Antonio as a transfer degree student.

There are only a few problems:

My so-called Matura grades are not very good, they are like average, because I did a lot of volunteer work and extra-curricular activities and wasted a little bit of my time.
Now I discovered a new opportunity of getting my dream come true: applying at CC to study in the US. My longer-term plan would be to transfer to a well-known USC or even better UC university (like UCLA). After that I want to go to law school or make my master degree at a Ivy league university (or top 20/30 uni).
I know I have to work hard - even harder than ever before - to get good grades, but it is my will.

Extra-Curricular activities/volunteering:

- school representative, 1year
- representative of vienna's students (area representative), 1year
- made the vienna's students newspaper
- founder & head of the school's own school newspaper, 1year
- active in a students right group, 3 years
- journalist at the students corner of a nation-wide newspaper (DerStandard - they also have a coop. with NYT in the US)
- completed a 6 months training as a leadership & communication consultant