right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Struggling With College Math

newjerseygirl98newjerseygirl98 2127 replies46 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
edited September 11 in Community Colleges
I’ve been attending a CC in Northern NJ for 3 years, after attending La Salle U for a year. I have to take two remedial math classes. I just passed the first one, and I’m now taking the second class after one withdrawal (couldn’t pass tests).

I was in sped math from grades 4-12. We moved a lot, and was homeless for a while during high school. I attended an alternative high school, due to bullying. We then became homeless, & moved as often as twice a week. We then moved to the low-income city where I live now. The math teachers would literally take the tests for us, & called it “correcting”, because none of could pass. I’m starting to feel as if I’m at a 5th-6th grade level in math.

My CC allows two tutoring sessions per week. It’s hard to get to these, because I have an almost two-year-old. I still go, but the tutors are hard to understand, due to speed and language barriers. I can’t afford a “real” tutor as I’m from a very low-income household.

I don’t want to sound like I’m making excuses, but I’ve now failed the first test three times. We get unlimited retakes (MyMathLab), but we’re not supposed to fall behind. I also wonder if I have dyscalculia based on what I’ve read online (mixing up numbers, etc). The rest of my grades are decent to great. I know very few college graduates as is, & recently
local adults have been telling me how they dropped out of college due to math...I don’t want this to be me!!

Does anyone have any advice?
edited September 11
1 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Struggling With College Math

• happymomof1happymomof1 29579 replies172 threadsRegistered User Senior Member