Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Firefox is blocking this site as an "attack site"

mathmomvtmathmomvt Registered User Posts: 4,513 Senior Member
"This web page at talk.collegeconfidential.com has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences."

I think I first got it when loading this page http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/parents-forum/1396684-like-over-booked-airline-mit-pays-accepted-students-give-up-their-seats.html

Site admins may want to go to https://www.stopbadware.org and figure out how to get the site un-listed.
Post edited by mathmomvt on

Replies to: Firefox is blocking this site as an "attack site"

  • boysx3boysx3 Registered User Posts: 5,164 Senior Member
    I am getting the same message on my computer using mozilla and safari.....i tried both

    Sent from my DROIDX using CC
  • Roger_DooleyRoger_Dooley Founder Posts: 106,392 Senior Member
    We have verified the site is clean and turned off ads (some of which come from third parties) as a precaution.

    Thanks for calling this to our attention.
  • digmediadigmedia Registered User Posts: 3,331 Senior Member
    Roger - Now happening on the SuperMatch page as well. As a hint, the message says that the site www.collegeview.com is the culprit.
  • MaineLonghornMaineLonghorn Super Moderator Posts: 37,132 Super Moderator
    The tech people are aware of the problem. digmedia, I will forward your comment to them.
  • Roger_DooleyRoger_Dooley Founder Posts: 106,392 Senior Member
    The sites have been verified as clean. We think the "www" portion of CC, not the forums, is getting flagged because of a minor problem detected (and now corrected) on a related site.

    If you are blocked in Chrome or Firefox, Internet Explorer or another browser should work.

    We are working to get the alert messages removed, but in our experience this can take a period of hours to accomplish. Sorry about the problem!
  • Trinity7Trinity7 Registered User Posts: 434 Member
    Firefox displays that College Confidential site is a potential attack site and is blocking it. Thanks for addressing this issue.
  • 3togo3togo Registered User Posts: 5,233 Senior Member
    edited March 2013
    I'm getting the message today also on Firefox ...
  • nicedayniceday Registered User Posts: 2,498 Senior Member
    I'm having the problem on firefox and there are people posting now in an SAT forum about a problem through Chrome.
  • WayOutWestMomWayOutWestMom Registered User Posts: 9,814 Senior Member
    Also getting potential malware infected site warnings with Safari and Chrome.
  • Roger_DooleyRoger_Dooley Founder Posts: 106,392 Senior Member
    The problem was, as far as I can tell, related to delivery of ads and corrected within seconds. Unfortunately, it can take a long time for Chrome and Firefox to catch up with reality. The site has been checked and is entirely safe, but ads have been turned off temporarily as a precaution.
  • alamemomalamemom Registered User Posts: 6,384 Senior Member
    Chrome refers to talk.collegeconfidential.com as a "known malware distributor."

    That doesn't sound "entirely safe" to me...
  • PancakedPancaked Registered User Posts: 3,355 Senior Member
    Some pretty wild stats this time, much more dramatic than when this happened in 2012:
    What is the current listing status for talk.collegeconfidential.com?

    Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 81 time(s) over the past 90 days.

    What happened when Google visited this site?

    Of the 1836 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 1110 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2013-03-22, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2013-03-22.

    Malicious software includes 71 exploit(s), 11 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 2 new process(es) on the target machine.

    Malicious software is hosted on 4 domain(s), including audiogamecolon.com.ar/, theravious.com.ar/, internetthewebsite.com.ar/.

    2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including dzintarino.biz/, cowsmoomoo.biz/.

    This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS3561 (SAVVIS).
  • yetanotheridyetanotherid Registered User Posts: 310 Member
    Chrome, FF, IE all 3 browsers blocking. I had to do an override to get here. Please fix if this some sort of configuration issue. I saw the same stats posted by Pancaked and that concerns me.
  • myboby123myboby123 Registered User Posts: 428 Member
    i thought it was my windows pc. still seeing it on my macbook. at least in chrome, i was able to proceed at my risk.
  • yetanotheridyetanotherid Registered User Posts: 310 Member
    Wait! Please don't visit that site right now!

    Google detected badware on the site you were visiting. Firefox uses Google's blacklist to warn you about "Reported attack sites." We understand that you may know and trust this site, but it's possible for good sites to be infected with badware without the site owners' knowledge or permission.

    I see this from Home | StopBadware. Hope the Admins are doing something about this rather than saying site is safe. This problem has been going on for more than 3 hours now
This discussion has been closed.