Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
We want your feedback! Complete our survey and enter to win one of four $25 gift cards.
We are excited to announce a new role on College Confidential: The Forum Champion! Read all about it and apply now.

Chance me for Cornell ED (College of Engineering)

Sebas514Sebas514 Registered User Posts: 56 Junior Member

SAT I (breakdown): 1570 single score (790 R&W, 780 M), 1590 superscore (790 R&W, 800 M) took it twice
ACT (breakdown): N/A
SAT II: 720 Bio M (retaking in October), 700 chem(retaking in October), Math II: expecting between 770-800(took in August)
Unweighted GPA (out of 4.0): 93 UW, 95.5 W - converts to a 3.7-3.8 UW, 4.2 W (big upward trend junior year)
Rank (percentile if rank is unavailable): N/A, top 10%
AP (place score in parenthesis): Chem(3), Bio(4), Stat(4), Macro(5), Micro(5), Enviro(5), Calc AB(5), Spanish Lang(5)
IB (place score in parenthesis): N/A
Senior Year Course Load: AP Physics C, AP Calculus C, AP Govpol, AP Spanish, English honors, istem honors class.

Major Awards (USAMO, Intel etc.):

National Hispanic Recognition award (prob not National Merit cuz I got 1470 and im in NJ:/)
Spanish speaking award at school
Lots of science olympiad medals

Extracurriculars (place leadership in parenthesis):

Internship doing data analysis post spine fusion surgery with a grad student at Stevens University

Soap Research project at Colgate Palmolive - adjusted glycerine levels and evaluated results to improve cost margin

MIT InvenTeams - worked on a team that helped develop a device to keep drivers awake (Research Lead)

Chess service club (go to retirement homes and set up tournaments for little kids) (President) - 4 years

Science Olympiad member - 3 years

Club soccer (captain) - all of middle school and high school

Varsity soccer (captain of JV, been on varsity for 2 years)

Volunteer work - worked at YWCA Princeton (lots of manual labor), volunteered at a halfway house for a week through my church, lots of miscellaneous activities with soccer, volunteer at local library working with kids

NHS member - tutor students in physics, bio, chem, calc, spanish - 2 years

Language links - helping esl kids get adjusted to hs through tutoring, advice, being there for them, etc. - 1 year

Job/Work Experience: Tutor kids on the weekends with local company, referee for flag football
Volunteer/Community service: see above
Summer Activities: internship, essay writing
Essays (rating 1-10, details):

common app 8/10: Wrote about how my uncle taught me to love engineering from a young age and how I transitioned from the quiet hispanic kid into an individual who knows the importance of collaborating with others

Cornell (7/10): Currently working on it, 1st draft was about my grandma's Parkinson's and how that made me want to study bme. Obviously included the research of some faculty and talked about engineering without borders

Recommendations (rating 1-10, details):
Teacher Rec #1:
AP Bio teacher (8) - knows me well, got an A in his class and we really connected. Should be able to connect with him more senior year and talk about my research with him.
Teacher Rec #2:
Physics teacher (10) - Taught me freshman year, teaching me senior year. Advisor for my chess club, him and I are pretty good friends.
Counselor Rec: (7) - going to be very generic since I don't really know her that well. She knows that I'm smart though so it shouldn't be that bad.
Additional Rec:
debating on asking either:
(A): My professor at Stevens who oversaw the research (although I didn't really get to know her that well).
(B): Club soccer coach who went to Dartmouth and Harvard, daughter goes to Columbia, knows the ins and outs of the college process. I know him well enough for him to make me captain and we have really good conversations.



Applying for Financial Aid?: Probably not
Intended Major: Biomedical Engineering
State (if domestic applicant): NJ
Country (if international applicant): dual citizenship with Colombia (not sure this matters)
School Type: Competitive Public
Ethnicity: Hispanic, Afro-Colombian
Gender: Male
Income Bracket: 300k+
Hooks (URM, first generation college, etc.): URM, parents went to school in Colombia so probably not first gen.

Replies to: Chance me for Cornell ED (College of Engineering)

Sign In or Register to comment.