Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Binghamton Cornell Transfer?

PleaseHelp124578PleaseHelp124578 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
I am currently a freshman at SUNY Binghamton. I originally was supposed to attend West Point received a Congressional Nomination, qualified academically & physically, but I was medically disqualified due to my ADHD medication. I was told by my field force representative to spend a semester at another school (I chose Binghamton because it was relatively good academically and cheap), but when I came off of the medication I had a really tough time coping. I finished the semester with a 2.0 and immediately went back onto my medication. This semester, on medication, I am expecting to finish with a 4.0.

Binghamton is a living hell for me. The classes are ridiculously easy, the people here are terrible, there have been 3 murders on campus (one happening next door to me), and for a variety of other reasons, I need to leave; however, I won't transfer into another school unless it is better than Binghamton. I have been in contact with the admissions team at Cornell, but I'm wondering: what are my chances of getting in and what other options do I have for school?

In terms of extracurriculars, I was a 4 sport athlete in high school, was the runner up for governor at Boys' State, worked for Congressman King, raised over $20,000 through multiple charity events I organized, and have a bunch more community service/internships/volunteerwork.