right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Is Durham University actually a good school?

CollegeMintCollegeMint 13 replies13 threadsRegistered User New Member
Is Durham University a competitive and quality school? I just received an acceptance letter from them, which should have made me really happy, but it actually just confuses me. I applied to the school on the deadline January 15th, 4 days ago, so how did they have time to accept me already? Maybe it's just because it's a UK school, and they do things differently, but it seems strange. 4 days is around the time it takes a community college to make their acceptances.
I think what worries me the most is that I'm afraid they accepted me so quickly without thinking just because I'm an international student (and therefore full-pay.) I do not want to go to a school there's a bunch of dumber people who got in just because they've got money. You know what I'm saying? I mean, I know that at most schools money plays into the admissions process at least a little bit, but the fact that they apparently barely looked at my application bothers me. Especially because of this in my letter: "This institution regards you as overseas for fees purposes and their offer has been made on this basis." What I'm hoping this means is just that they expect me to pay full price, not that they accepted me because I'm international.
So anyways, thoughts? What do you think about Durham? How do they make their acceptances? Are my qualms justified? Good school, yea or nay?
45 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Is Durham University actually a good school?

• collegemom3717collegemom3717 6717 replies57 threadsRegistered User Senior Member