right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

US Student considering studying in London

Cardinals2000Cardinals2000 28 replies18 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 46 Junior Member
I am an American citizen very interested in studying in london as an undergraduate. My perspective degree is Government and Economics/ Political Economy.

One of the main reasons I am so enthusiastic about london is the internship and career options it offers as both a financial hub and a country capital. However, I recently read on another CC thread that since I am not a UK or EU citizen I will not be eligible for any jobs and internships when I am studying in London. This seems hard to believe, but is it true?

Thank you

14 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: US Student considering studying in London

• siliconvalleymomsiliconvalleymom 4377 replies84 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 4,461 Senior Member
    edited March 2016
    Here's a link explaining that you can get work and do internships while in London with the right visa:
    http://www.studylondon.ac.uk/application-advice/working-in-london-and-the-uk

It sounds like you are at the beginning of your college search, and it is important to understand how different the college application process is for universities in the UK. Will your family be able to pay the full cost of college?
    edited March 2016
    · Reply · Share
  • collegemom3717collegemom3717 6364 replies48 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 6,412 Senior Member
    Internships are not a problem while you are enrolled- especially if you are in a top university- but in practice, being hired after you graduate is a very long shot.

(and btw, how do you think it works for international students who come to the US?!)
    · Reply · Share
  • boomtingboomting 689 replies27 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 716 Member