right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Upcoming changes to the way we log in on College Confidential. Read more here.

Transfer from UChicago to Duke

dragonjackdragonjack 2 replies3 threads New Member
Hi,
I'm a current freshman at UChicago. All the rumors about this place are completely true. I feel really alone and miserable. The people here are extremely unapproachable and the professors here are unhelpful. I haven't found many big non-preprofessional RSOs, and the preprofessional RSOs that I am interested in have rigorous application processes that I haven't been able to get through. Some of my classes are also graded on a brutal curve that fosters harsh competition; I want to go to a school that's more collaborative. I don't see any redeeming qualities about this school, and I'm terrified at the thought of spending four years here. However, I worked extremely hard in high school to get here, and I don't want to waste the time and energy I spent to get here. For that reason, I want to transfer to a school that's fun and collaborative, but also relatively prestigious. The best school that fits that description is Duke.

What are my chances of transferring from UChicago to Duke? Will a school like Duke find the reasons I stated above compelling enough to warrant transferring?
11 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Transfer from UChicago to Duke

• milee30milee30 2153 replies13 threads Senior Member
    I'm so sorry you're off to a rough start. Since classes started less than three weeks ago, it might be a bit too soon to draw any final conclusions. Might be worth giving things a little more time before deciding. Although some of the RSOs are competitive entry, there are plenty of others that aren't so finding a few where you can make friends with common interests would help. Your house might also provide people who can support you while you're finding your way.