Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

GPA and Masters Program

CitanCitan Registered User Posts: 2,287 Senior Member
edited June 2008 in Engineering Majors
I am an Electrical Engineering student at UCLA in my senior year, about to go into my fifth year starting next quarter (Fall). I will be applying to grad schools next quarter so my GPA right now is the GPA I will put down in the applications.

The current GPA I have is 3.42 (Cumulative) and around 3.46 (Upper Divs). Yea, it's kinda low but that's cause I messed up in my programming classes (bloody hell). I will be giving GREs in Fall and am preparing for them.

Anyway, UCLA had a guaranteed Masters program but the GPA required was 3.50, so I missed the boat...but I only blame myself for it. Regardless, I want to apply to the other UCs for the EE Masters program and had UCI, UCSD, UCSB, UCSC and UCLA in mind (and maybe CSU SLO/Pomona as safeties). I am also doing research with a Professor (in Communications) atm, so I have that area covered. I would like to know if I have chances (if any) at any of these programs, because I am not really sure about the GPAs required to get in a EE Masters program.

Forgot to mention, I was a transfer student and my transfer GPA was 3.80. Will this be looked at too?
Post edited by Citan on

Replies to: GPA and Masters Program

• ken285ken285 Registered User Posts: 3,921 Senior Member