Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Is this suicide?

xmasxmas Registered User Posts: 213 Junior Member
edited September 2009 in Engineering Majors
Understanding how important research is for graduate school as well as future careers, it's best to do as much research as possible. I'm majoring in ch e right now. I might switch from it.

My question is this:
does all of your research have to be specialized towards your area of study? Or do all engineering research do essentially the same things - prepare you for more important research projects.

I'm shaky about ch e right now. I might switch to mech e or even aero e. So I might have a chem internship/job and be a part of another area of research like aero e. That way I know what I really want. To be honest, I really don't like the tedious processes that goes into experiments in biology or chem labs. I mean in engineering, the idea usually sounds cool. But the processes are really long and boring. We're building a model rocket as a semester project in my aero e course, and that seems much more interesting than extracting and crystallizing protein or using linux to calculate relativistic effects on molecular behavior (two subjects that I picked up during summer and then ditched).
Post edited by xmas on

Replies to: Is this suicide?

• xmasxmas Registered User Posts: 213 Junior Member