Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

TPEG, FSEOG Grants?

grie1214grie1214 Registered User Posts: 6 New Member
I'm a transfer student from Colorado. I got admitted to a school in Texas, and from the looks of my financial aid, I won't be attending. I got awarded for the Pell grant as well as unsubsidized and subsidized loans. When I asked about being funded for the need based state grants(FESOG and TPEG) they told me I was not eligible since I'm an out of state transfer student. The requirements listed on there site to receive the award are you have to be a Texas resident and you have to show financial need. I don't see how this is possible if I meet all the requirements. I am classified as an in state student, and my EFC is 0. They are basically telling me throughout pursuing my degree I will never receive state grants. Has anyone had this problem before? If so, did you receive state grants the following semester? Is it even worth going to their school?

Replies to: TPEG, FSEOG Grants?

• twoinanddonetwoinanddone Registered User Posts: 17,806 Senior Member
    I asked about being funded for the need based state grants(FESOG and TPEG) they told me I was not eligible since I'm an out of state transfer student. The requirements listed on there site to receive the award are you have to be a Texas resident and you have to show financial need. I don't see how this is possible if I meet all the requirements. I am classified as an in state student, and my EFC is 0.