Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

what happens if parents refuse to pay for child?

britboynybritboyny Registered User Posts: 11 New Member
Hi
Im a complete newbie when it comes to university - im from england and was lucky enough to get a free university education in London that helped me do well in life. My son just got into Princeton which obviously i am very happy about. We are looking at paying around 70K a year for four years, which is about the same as which my mortgage i'm still paying for cost.
Im still a little confused as to the financial connection between parent and child. What happens if i refuse to co-sign a huge loan for my son in which case he wont be loaned the money? Does he not go to Princeton at that point ?

Replies to: what happens if parents refuse to pay for child?

• intparentintparent Registered User Posts: 33,749 Senior Member
    Right. Unless Princeton offered him need based aid (assuming you filled out the financial aid forms with him), then that is correct. No one is going to loan a kid that kind of money without an adult co-signer. Plus, if you co-sign, you could be on the hook for the loan (plus interest). If he doesn’t pay back, or can’t (disability, death), that debt probably doesn’t go away. It sounds like it is unaffordable for your family.
  • boudersbouders Registered User Posts: 2,177 Senior Member