Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Need help with loans and financial aid - Aid/Loans 101

Replies to: Need help with loans and financial aid - Aid/Loans 101

• dreamer103dreamer103 Registered User Posts: 39 Junior Member
    I don’t think I’ve elaborated myself clearly, sorry guys.... I absolutely don’t plan on enrolling until I get my green card.. I graduated in 2016 with an associates(paid it all myself) and am waiting for my green card in order to continue junior year at uni.. I’m only planning now because I could be getting my green card at any moment now since I’ve already done my interview.
  • twoinanddonetwoinanddone Registered User Posts: 18,922 Senior Member
    Then yes, once you have your green card you can borrow at least $12,500 per year. You may also qualify for some grants.
    Is that public loans alone? Because I might need some private loans. I’ll try to check with the bank
    You just said you needed $24k for your final 2 years, now you are saying you want more in private (student) loans. You can borrow more but I think you will regret it.
  • mommdcmommdc Registered User Posts: 10,540 Senior Member
    Find out if the school considers you an international student now.

The tuition will be more expensive then.

We all want things and it's hard to wait.

But it would be better for both of you to live at her parents while attending school, or live together and both work and save up money for school.