Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Withdrawing Financial Aid Application

Moumo017Moumo017 Registered User Posts: 5 New Member
Hi! I'm an international student from Japan. I have a question about FA application.

I've already sent my CSS Profile to Northwestern and Johns Hopkins. But I got a scholarship from the outside foundation so I won't need FA anymore. I know both schools are need-sensitive for int'l so I'm worried whether sending the profile would hurt my chance of acceptance... Do you think I should contact each school and withdraw my FA application?

I appreciate any help! Thank you!!!

Replies to: Withdrawing Financial Aid Application

• thumper1thumper1 Registered User Posts: 76,073 Senior Member
    Do you have a full ride for all four years?
  • Moumo017Moumo017 Registered User Posts: 5 New Member
    Yes, I got 70k for four years.
    edited December 2018
    $70,000 for each of four years! If that is the case...

Sure, contact the colleges and withdraw your financial aid application. Just be sure....because if you don’t apply as an incoming freshman, I don’t believe you can apply in the future.

ETA...since the school is need aware...do you have the confirmation of this scholarship? If so, you could notify financial aid that you have $70,000 a year in aid...that would likely take your financial need down to $0...

Hoping someone else replies!!
    Yes, I'm applying as an incoming freshman!

I'll contact the colleges. Thank you for your help!