right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Mother refuse to help pay for college but bothers me to attend

TrudyMinaj1TrudyMinaj1 8 replies8 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
I’m 21 and parents refuse to support me financially. My mother earns over 100k a year and sometimes refuse to pay the heat bill in the winter. She doesn’t care because she mainly lives with her boyfriend and home on the weekends. She doesn’t provide food and I have epilepsy. I been trying to get into college since I graduated high school and couldn’t because my mother refuse to give me her tax information to put in FAFSA and I’m not getting any aid and can’t afford to pay out of pocket.

If I didn’t help care for her when she’s a elder and left her to die alone... would I be wrong?
10 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Mother refuse to help pay for college but bothers me to attend

• vonlostvonlost 18699 replies14097 threadsSuper Moderator Super Moderator
    Have a look at Dependency Override. Read carefully to decide if you might qualify:

http://cca-ct.org/financial aid 2008.pdf
    http://www.finaid.org/educators/pj/dependencyoverrides.phtml
    · Reply · Share
  • thumper1thumper1 74205 replies3245 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
    edited September 6
    A year ago, you were enrolled in a college program...

https://talk.collegeconfidential.com/new-york-colleges/2098973-do-i-have-a-case-for-lawyers.html#latest

And in 2017 you wrote this...
    . I got a email from tap saying I was eligible for 5,000 and FAFSA said I was eligible for 5,000 grant. MCC is 14k for the whole 2 years. SUNY said to wait until I get my financial aid award letter to see what I'm eligible for such as fseog grant, pell grant, college grant, etc

So...what’s the real story?
    edited September 6
    · Reply · Share
  • TrudyMinaj1TrudyMinaj1 8 replies8 threadsRegistered User Junior Member