right arrow
Informational Message Stay on top of the information you need to navigate the admissions process amid the COVID-19 pandemic. We've got articles, videos and forum discussions that provide answers to all of your test prep, admissions and college search questions.   Visit our COVID-19 resource page.

Introducing Kai!
Your College Confidential guide bot.

Kai can provide tips and support as you research and apply to colleges, and explore majors and careers.

Chat with Kai
here, 24/7!

or Skip Forever

IMPORTANT NEWS: CC Forums are now in read-only mode as the team is working on the transition to a new look with enhanced features. We anticipate full service on the site to return on Nov. 24. Read more about this here!

Parent Info Waiver

nontradishbishnontradishbish 37 replies1 threads Junior Member
I am a non-traditional adult student applying to transfer from a CC to a 4 year undergrad program. When asking the finaid office about special instructions for independent students, they instructed me to fill out a parent info waiver form. The form asks for a written response on the nature of your relationship with each parent, and why it is impossible to submit their information. Has anyone had success with this? I am not exactly sure what to write. I have contact with one parent, so it's not impossible, its just that I am 27 and married.
13 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Parent Info Waiver

• thumper1thumper1 79360 replies3583 threads Senior Member
    edited October 27
    Did you tell them you were 27 and married??

Why would you need to do this? When you complete the FAFSA, you will get to a series of questions related to dependency. You meet the age requirement and you are married...when you answer “yes” to these questions, you won’t have to provide parent financial info on the FAFSA.

I would suggest you contact the 4 year colleges and ask about the Profile. Just ask them if parent info is needed for a 27 year old, married student. They will tell you.