Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Help ! Was this a terrible mistake?

chanoobchanoob Registered User Posts: 146 Junior Member
Okay well i needed help with a question about the fafsa. So i called the student finanicial aid serivces. I thought it was the real Fafsa help from the govt or something like that...

I told them my social security number as well as my info do you think they stole my identitiy?

The guy said he would e-mail me a link where i could get help its been like 5 mins and i didnt get it...

Post edited by chanoob on

Replies to: Help ! Was this a terrible mistake?

  • sincerelyydavidsincerelyydavid Registered User Posts: 181 Junior Member
    screwed. there are a lot of fake services who steal people's identities using their social security number.
  • 'rentof2'rentof2 Registered User Posts: 4,327 Senior Member
    Who did you call? What do you mean "student financial aid services"? Where did you get the phone number?
  • madwaymadway Registered User Posts: 15 New Member
    where did you find it? through a school?
  • chanoobchanoob Registered User Posts: 146 Junior Member
    I called Student Financial Aid Services Inc. the number is 1.866.514/5950
    fafsa.com not the ed one...

    Help me out
    They sent me a letter i guess they send one to everyone whos a senior?
  • thumper1thumper1 Registered User Posts: 63,461 Senior Member
    The FAFSA.com folks are a legit organization but they CHARGE you to do the work you do for FREE when you go to FAFSA.gov.

    I think you're fine...but NOW go to the real FAFSA site and do the real FAFSA...for FREE.
  • 'rentof2'rentof2 Registered User Posts: 4,327 Senior Member
    I agree with Thumper. They won't steal your identity or use your SSN improperly. However, they do charge for what is, in fact, a free application.

    Got to www.fafsa.ed.gov. File your app from there. No charge.
This discussion has been closed.