Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

37yr old student/ Financial Aid Options

bigwillystyle7bigwillystyle7 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
Hello All,

I am new and this is my first post. Allow me to introduce myself and then ask my question.

I am a loan officer in NC and currently reside in SC. I have registered for York Tech community college FT (12hrs) and will start Feb 8th. I am excited!

I have been a mortgage guy for 6yrs and although very good when I want to be and have had very good financial success over the 6yrs... the slow economy and housing market has me desiring education.

I have always done well in Sales but sales does not require education and does not use too much of it either. If you are personable and have a natural financial mind you will do well.

Without education, Sales will always be the jobs I can/will land.

ok....So my question is as follows: I have recieved lottery money which looks like it pays about 1/2 of the tuition. I have also applyed for the "Stafford" federal loan and have been told that an independent student can qualify for up to $9500 per Semester.

This has me elated and being burnt from 10yrs of Sales work.... if I can go to school FT and even have a little income from student loans..... this sounds/seems like heaven to me!!!

Please reply and help educate me on my thoughts and outlook on Student loans.

Thank you forum!
Post edited by bigwillystyle7 on