right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Finding Gap Year Opportunities on Short Notice

CfckohCfckoh 0 replies1 threadsRegistered User New Member
Hi all! So I graduated this June 2019 and was planning to start at the University of California Davis next month. Unfortunately, due to unexpected changes in my father's employment I will now be taking a gap year and reapplying to colleges this year. Deferment was not an option because my father's job came with the benefit of in-state tuition at UC schools. Additionally my current summer internship at a national laboratory is coming to a close and due to the policies I cannot continue to work unless I am enrolled full time (12 cred hours) at a university. So currently I am scrambling to find opportunities to continue my academic exposure and explore career opportunities. I have no qualms traveling or living in another country or state for a semester or a year if a beneficial opportunity arises there and I have saved enough money to support myself for a short term duration (semester to year maybe) in most places. I have been emailing professors from various universities across the nation to see if they would have positions as a lab technician or to do any basic computational work. Not unexpectedly, I have gotten no replies in the 20 + individuals I have contacted. Anybody have any good suggestions for what my next move should be? I'd also greatly appreciate it if anybody has a contact that might be able to offer me such an experience. However I understand not wanting to share contact info on a public forum. Thank you for your time!
4 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Finding Gap Year Opportunities on Short Notice

• HippobirdyHippobirdy 358 replies1 threadsRegistered User Member
    edited August 31
    Where do you have instate tuition?