right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Do I need to withdraw from my current University in order to re-apply to other colleges?

NOTanonymousNOTanonymous 10 replies7 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
For some background: I was accepted to a backup school during my senior year of high school. I was planning on taking a gap year anyway and so I deferred enrollment.

I am currently a gap year student and I intend on reapplying to UPenn ED in about a month. Do I have to withdraw from my backup in order to apply? If I am admitted, I intend on forfeiting the spot at the backup. But, I would still consider going to the backup in the likely scenario that I am not admitted so I would rather wait to withdraw until I absolutely have to.

Thank you advance for your help
9 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Do I need to withdraw from my current University in order to re-apply to other colleges?

• collegemom3717collegemom3717 6703 replies57 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
  • GumbymomGumbymom 27825 replies155 threadsForum Champion UC Forum Champion
    I would check with your current University since some schools if you are defer will not allow you to apply to another school unless officially withdraw.
    · Reply · Share
  • NOTanonymousNOTanonymous 10 replies7 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    @Gumbymom thank you for the reply. My guidance counselor says that NACAC rules require I withdraw my application. I don’t think she’s right about this, though. I will keep doing research. If it helps you give a more specific answer, the school I’m currently enrolled in is BU.

Thank you again for your help
    · Reply · Share
  • sensation723sensation723 559 replies1 threadsRegistered User Member
    ED only requires you withdraw your application if you are accepted.
    · Reply · Share
  • austinmshauriaustinmshauri 8926 replies333 threadsRegistered User Senior Member