right arrow
PARENTS4PARENTS is a new initiative aimed at highlighting the vast expertise of our parents community while helping other parents better navigate the college admissions process. aggies1989 is a UC alumnus and parent of two UC college kids. ASK HIM ANYTHING!
GUEST STUDENT OF THE WEEK: fintech3753 is a current student at the Wharton School. Majoring in finance, he is hoping to pursue a career at the intersection of finance and technology. ASK HIM ANYTHING!
Make sure to check out our August Checklist for HS Seniors. Consult these quick resources to get you started on the process this month.
As we work to adjust to the current reality, make sure to check out these dedicated COVID-19 resources: our directory of virtual campus tours, our directory of extended deadlines, as well as the list of schools going test optional this fall.

Is a Gap Year something worth discussing with my parent?

OriensLightOriensLight 0 replies1 threads New Member
Hello,

I am currently a student at an art university about to go into my Senior Year. Being that it is an art school, it demands a lot of hands-on learning and in-person teaching. However, with the pandemic, my Fall 2020 classes have gone remote (My school is hoping we can continue on-campus courses in the Spring; that is, if there isn't a second COVID-19 wave--we're in NYC by the way).

With online learning, the educational experience is significantly reduced, however, students are still expected to pay 60K. For remote learning, no access to campus art equipment/facilities and with many of my Fall 2020 classes being cancelled (Again, due to lack of access to the campus. For example, you can't take a machine knitting class without the machine!), I'm seriously considering whether or not it would be more beneficial for me to take a gap year.