Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

How did you narrow your research interests for grad school?

anmeheranmeher Registered User Posts: 2 New Member
edited March 2011 in Graduate School
Hi all,
I'm new to cc and I was wondering how you guys narrowed down your research interests for grad school? I'm most likely going to apply to a clinical psychology program but I'm still not sure what my research interests are. Thanks!
Post edited by anmeher on

Replies to: How did you narrow your research interests for grad school?

• NeuroGradNeuroGrad Registered User Posts: 111 Junior Member
    Do research! Many things may sound interesting when you hear about them in a course, but that is necessarily a superficial description. It is tough to really narrow down what type of research you find fascinating until you actually try some out.
  • belevittbelevitt Registered User Posts: 2,005 Senior Member
    This is really important but I hope you understand that there is flexibility after you have started and even after you have finished graduate school.

I had worked in three labs as an undergraduate in pretty different disciplines but I graduated and didn't really know what I wanted. I worked for several years as a technician, again in a couple of different areas until I was deadset on what I wanted to study. I picked programs based on the faculty who shared my intended career interests and secured a spot in the one that I thought would be the best fit.