Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Biochemistry and BME minor, Low GPA ( ~3.2 ish) Coauthor-publication and one first author.

sciencelover92sciencelover92 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
Hello, I had a really low GPA till I was a sophomore (around 2.5 ish). I went to Korea to finish my mandatory 2-year military service and came back to college a year and a half ago.

Ever since I came back to college I have been keeping up okay GPA (~3.5)
Now I am a senior with decent GPA of 3.0. I kept GPAs above 3.5 all semesters since I came back.

I am doing extra year to do more research and get BME minor. I am doing extra year mainly for the sake of learning more and because I find so many classes interesting, but I am hoping this will also compensate for my sluggish days...

By the time I apply to graduate school (December 2017), I expect my GPA to be around 3.2. I will have taken a lot of biology courses: immunology, microbiology, developmental biology, cancer biology, cell signaling, biochemistry 1,2, cell biology, genetics, pharmacology 1,2, genetic engineering, tissue engineering, etc.