Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Postbacc advice

ShathiiShathii Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
I am an undergrad, graduating this semester with a psychology degree. I am planning to apply for postbacc and I don't have a science background. I am looking at NYU, Fordham, Hofstra, Farmingdale, LIU. I am not sure which one will be best for me. I know pre-med classes are hard doesn't matter what school I go but still which school will be best for someone who is taking sciences for the first time.

Replies to: Postbacc advice

• mom2collegekidsmom2collegekids Registered User Posts: 82,627 Senior Member
    edited October 6
    Why are you graduating this semester? Are you graduating early? Can you stay there and take some of the premed prereqs

You can do a postbacc anywhere....even taking most classes at a CC. Will your parents pay for all costs? If not, how will you pay for these classes?

What is your home state

Those privates would be expensive for a postbacc. Is Farmington an instate Univ for you

You'd be better off going to a smaller school if you're taking science classes for the first time.
  • ShathiiShathii Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
    Thank you for replying. I am graduating a semester early and even if I stay one more semester I only can take 2 sciences max and then I have to do a postbacc anyway.