Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Funding for Grad School

uiucundergraduiucundergrad Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
Hi,

I am currently an international student and considering applying for graduate school in 2019. I will be graduating with an BA in Economics and a minor in Statistics or Mathematics. I am currently a junior with a 3.33 GPA and would be retaking 2 classes to bump my GPA up to a 3.7/3.8. I am intending to study Economics/Public Policy/Finance in graduate school. I would like to know what fundings are available for me?

Replies to: Funding for Grad School

• intparentintparent Registered User Posts: 30,780 Senior Member
    How could retaking two classes bump your entire GPA that much? Or are you projecting all As from here on out in addition?

Some questions/comments:
    - Are you in the US at college now or your home country? If the US, you should be talking to your advisor or profs in your major for advice.
    - Are you looking for a master's degree or doctorate degree program? Master's are rarely funded. A doctorate takes years to complete -- 5-7, but usually does have enough funding to live on. What is your actual career goal?