Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Need advices for grad school selection

DQZ1213DQZDQZ1213DQZ Registered User Posts: 42 Junior Member
edited January 9 in Graduate School
I am a sophomore at a public ivy college double majoring in math and philosophy, and I hoped to go to decent statistics master program after graduation.
However, I am not getting good grades at all. This semester I got a B- in linear algebra, and my cumulative GPA dropped to 3.48. For math, I've taken Calc I(A), Calc II(A), Discrete Math(B) and Applied statistics(A-).

All I can say on my behalf at this point is that I will adjust my study habits for the coming spring semester and try to bring my grades up as much as possible. I understand that if I start to work very hard, the B- in linear algebra might be justified by good grades in later courses, but after all, linear algebra is a core course, and I am uncertain about how much I can justify it.

QUESTIONS:
I wonder how bad will this B- in linear algebra hurt me in graduate admission process if I could do reasonably good in later courses?
I am looking at programs that are ranked around 20-50, such as the University of Virginia, or Boston University, etc. Is it still realistic for me to think about getting into these programs?
If 20-50 institutions are no longer within my reach, what kind of program should I look at if I don't want to go into industries immediately after undergrad?
Will my school name help me in any ways?