Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

MS Degree from elite university. PhD from low university worth it?

Longhorns7686Longhorns7686 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
BACKGROUND:

I received an MS degree from an elite engineering university (Stanford). I then started a PhD at that university but left the program after a job offer. Ever since then I always wanted to work toward a PhD but it was never feasible. I work as an engineer.

My current employer has given me an offer to pay for a Part-Time PhD at a local university while I continue to work for them. The reason is the research project intersects with my current work, so we can basically pick up a PhD while working on the project. Their are a number of other mutual interests between the company and university so it made sense.
Normally a Part-Time PhD is not feasible but my position is unique in which my work will intersect with research, and because I've worked for a number of years, becoming very good at my job such that I can take on another task.

PROBLEM:

The reality is that the only universities near me are low and/or unranked universities. My company has a very good relationship with these universities, allowing for many engineers at the company to work towards a PhD from them on a Part-Time basis. There is no elite university near by, with exception of one. And this elite university, just like most top universities, will not allow a part-time PhD enrollment. So the only feasible option is a PhD at a bottom ranked (or unranked) university.

QUESTIONS: