Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Is 4.5 AWA too low for History PhD?

XCrunner1776XCrunner1776 Registered User Posts: 11 New Member
I am a third-year undergrad looking to be admitted to a top History PhD program for Fall 2021. I recently took the GRE, and am satisfied with my Verbal (170) and Quant (157) scores, but I was a little disappointed that I only earned a 4.5 AWA. I sent those scores to three of my top choices for PhD programs, which I now think was a mistake.
I have a 4.0 GPA at an elite public university after 60 credit hours, so I think my GPA will be strong even after two more years of undergrad before a one-year MA program. I am confident that my professors will write me strong letters of recommendation. I am still developing my writing skills, as is clear from my AWA score, but I am working on that as well.
I can always retake the test, but I am I’m hoping that schools like Yale, Princeton, Stanford, etc. don’t discard my application for the sub-5 AWA on my first test.
I sincerely appreciate your thought and opinions. Thank you for your time!

Replies to: Is 4.5 AWA too low for History PhD?

• happymomof1happymomof1 Registered User Posts: 28,093 Senior Member