Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Transferring Graduate Schools?

doorsfan4371doorsfan4371 Registered User Posts: 11 New Member
edited September 30 in Graduate School
Hello,

I graduated in April from a small liberal arts college in Pittsburgh with a B.A. in criminology. I am now at John Jay College in NYC pursuing the criminal justice M.A. with a criminology concentration. When I was applying to grad schools, I went for three PhD. programs in sociology (my interests shifted towards sociology in my senior year) and two master's in criminal justice. I had applied to PhDs because, for most of the sociology programs I saw, you were technically applying for the doctoral program but you would earn your master's along the way (in other words, I didn't come across many standalone sociology master's programs). I applied to and got rejected from UW Madison, UC Santa Cruz, and SUNY Albany. I got accepted to both of the criminal justice master's programs I applied to, John Jay College and Widener University. Because I still enjoy studying criminology, and I knew that John Jay is a good school, I decided to go there. I commute by train to NYC from NJ - the whole commute takes almost an hour and a half one way on a good day. I'm considering transferring partially because of the long and expensive commute, but mostly because I see now that I settled for a criminal justice degree when I really want a sociology one. I would like to transfer to Rutgers University - it's much closer to home and their program sounds great. However, like