right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

UC Berkeley Grad (B.A. + 2.7 GPA) I want an M.A. or M.S. related to Education. Recommendations?

RedHorizonRedHorizon 3 replies5 threads New Member
edited October 6 in Graduate School
Firstly here's some particularly relevant information (hopefully):

-I’m 30 years old, and I graduated last semester with a BA in Anthropology
-I was a community college transfer with a nearly flawless lower division transcript (3.9)
-My upper division work is peppered with As, Bs, Fs, some Cs, and some Ps and NPs.
- I didn’t form any close relationships with my Berkeley professors. At least not any that I
believe would recommend me with a high degree of confidence.
- I may have some lower division community college professors that could recommend me.
- I haven’t taken the GRE.
- I’m currently working abroad in ESL but the majority of my job experience before college was unrelated to Education.

I graduated Cal last semester. I want to pursue a Master’s degree somewhere in the field of Education. Vague, I know, but my options at this point are limited.

Preferably I could apply somewhere that has a tandem licensure program.

Can I still apply with somewhere to a Masters program with a relatively high chance of being accepted? If so, where?

I’d really prefer to stay away from for profit / private schools but I’ll take any suggestions at this point.

When I got to Cal I had a very rocky start that never really seemed to balance out. There were legitimate reasons: such as depression, a lack of a support network, administrative and service problems, family tragedies, balancing a part time job to offset my cost of living. I’m not here to make excuses, but at the very least I want to say that I wasn’t partying and skipping class. I’m passionate about Education and very invested in working and doing research in Education.