right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We have changed the way we log in on College Confidential. Read more here.

Chance me please

AbelAbdullAbelAbdull 2 replies3 threads New Member
edited January 9 in What Are My Chances?
Universities I am wanting to apply to: Duke, University of Montana, University of Alaska at Anchorage, University of Alabama, and UNC. My SAT is 1550 with a 20 on the essay. I am also taking IB and currently have a predicted 45. My EC are plentiful, so I am worrying more about my stats, as I am an international student.
edited January 9
4 replies
Post edited by MaineLonghorn on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Chance me please

• aunt beaaunt bea 10015 replies66 threads Senior Member
    The schools are so so so so very different. Where did you get this list from?
    Alaska and Montana are isolated, cold and far, but very different in everything else. Alabama is in Alabama, different weather, different “culture”, different size.

You can’t be so desperate to get into a US university that it doesn’t matter anything about the university: where it is, how far it is from town/airport/people, and what kind of living environment is there.
    US universities are all very different for a reason. And a lot of it has to do with the local environment. Looking on a map to see where they are doesn’t change the fact that they are all really, vastly different.
    · Reply · Share
  • izrk02izrk02 411 replies16 threads Member
    This list is... odd. But I'll try.

Duke and UNC are both reaches for anybody (UNC for OOS), but you're at the top of the pack for those. If you were in-state UNC would be a slight safety. Duke is one of those schools where it's almost random, anybody can get denied and it won't make sense.
    Alabama is a safety based off stats alone. Only 3.8% of their students are international though, and it's public which will hurt your chances.