right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Should I apply ED to Haverford (or Pomona)?

student680student680 14 replies5 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
I'm an international student with good grades and all that stuff and I am a huge fan of Haverford. I am still a little unsure about applying ED.

Until I discovered Haverford, my first choice was Pomona. I feel like Pomona is a school where everyone can enjoy as long as you like the idea of going to a liberal arts college, in fact with the consortium you can enjoy it even if you don't. Haverford feels more risky to me...I suspect it might be a hit or miss situation.

Trust is an important value to me especially when it comes to education. I really want to feel trusted by the institution. In fact, that's why I have always been drawn to the idea of an open curriculum. I already have interests in many fields so an easy to fulfil distribution requirement wouldn't make much of a difference to me but the philosophy behind an open curriculum is based on trusting the student. Both of these schools have easy to fill distribution requirements, my point was that I really care about the philosophies and the values of a school. So it makes sense that I was drawn to Haverford.

I am also interested in the Criminology department of UPenn so being able to take classes there without attending there will be great for me.

Is there anywhere I can find data on where Haverford graduates go for graduate school? I really don't want to be a prestige whore, it's just that I love Pomona so much too so if I have a valid reason to go back to Pomona I might.

I want to be a neuroscientist. Haverford only has a Neuroscience minor. Is it that important for me to be a Neuroscience major?