Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Is world Civilization hard in college? Should I consider other social science classes?

SuperGeo5999SuperGeo5999 Registered User Posts: 519 Member
I'm a community college student taking world Civilization I next semester because it seemed like the most interesting social science class to take to fulfill my social/behavioral science elective other than Economics and American History. I took geography but didn't take world Civilization in high school, thought geography was easy, and know world Civilization is kind of like geography but teaches from more from a history/timeline context rather than a region/map context. It seems interesting learning how our world, cultures, and modern society have evolved. I thought taking this class would expand my social studies knowledge since I've never taken this class! American History on the other hand, might be nice to learn especially the stuff I haven't learned since elementary or middle school because it goes into way more depth than middle school or elementary school history and don't remember much from that time because it's been so long. Economics, I didn't like in high school because I didn't like the teacher and made us do pointless stuff but know in college most of the time it isn't like that because your paying to attend there and I take the saying you get what you pay for because of the poor quality of education I got from my high school economics class. i do