Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Is this reasonable?

Otter517Otter517 Registered User Posts: 70 Junior Member
I am an incoming high school freshman, and recently had the terrible idea to plan out all of the classes that I want to take junior and senior year. (junior year has 4 APs, senior year has 6, all other classes are honors). All I have done since making said plan is stress that I'm not taking enough APs, then turn around and think that I'm going to fail.

My school has 24 APs, and along with one from freshman year and three this year, I could take as many as 20 of them, which I would like to try, but would probably fail at.

Just as some background, I am at a very competitive school, one of the best in my state, and along with academics, I am a dedicated athlete, sometimes on as many as three teams at once ( high school swim team, club swim team, cross country). As for my own personal academic standing, I am not a phenomenal student, but I have a reputation for being one, despite my efforts to change this. Many people think that I am tope five in my class, while it is a stretch to think that I'm even top 20.

As much as I hate to admit it, this reputation is a large part of the reason that I want to take so many APs. I don't want to disappoint the people who believe in me, even if that belief is unfounded.

What should I do? Is it reasonable to take on a schedule like that?

Replies to: Is this reasonable?