Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Am I taking too many APs?

needtosucceed27needtosucceed27 Registered User Posts: 434 Member
I'm a sophomore in high school, and by the end of high school, I will have taken 13-14 AP classes.

Here's what I've done so far, and my plan for the following years.

(1) Freshman year: AP World History (4 on exam)
I struggled a little bit with my AP class because the teacher was extremely hard on us and typically treated us as if we were juniors, not freshmen. I got a B my first semester and an A my second semester. I got a 4 on the AP exam, but I knew I could've gotten a 5 since I only studied 1/5 of my AP prep book.

(2) This year: AP Computer Science Principles and AP European History
Both of my AP classes have been pretty easy. I almost never have homework in APCSP and self-teach almost all the material because my teacher doesn't teach. In AP Euro, my teacher hands out more homework than any other teacher every night. Despite the large workload, all of the assignments are easy to complete. This semester, I ended APCSP with a 96 and AP Euro with a 94 (was a 96 before the final).

(5) Junior year: (planning to take) AP Physics/Chem, AP Computer Science A, AP Lang, AP US History, and AP Chinese