Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Am I considered "homeschooled"? What should I know?

2»

Replies to: Am I considered "homeschooled"? What should I know?

• Mom2aphysicsgeekMom2aphysicsgeek Registered User Posts: 4,499 Senior Member
    @FakeName1332 I have been homeschooling for 25 yrs and have graduated 5 of our kids from our homeschool. In my yrs of interacting with admissions, I am going to disagree that you will be considered homeschooled. You will more likely be classified as a non-traditional student. I would contact admissions and ask if you have an accredited transcript if you face additional requirements.

FWIW, our experience as straight forward homeschoolers is counter to what @cptofthehouse posted. My kids' transcripts have been accepted as valid representations of their coursework. Some of my kids have dual enrolled b/c that is the approach they wanted to take. Some haven't. My current college student (a rising jr) took only 1 dual enrollment course (spring of sr yr, so no grade during the college application season). She had no AP courses. We do not homeschool to replicate ps, so our approach to education does not climax with AP courses as the "goal." My kids have had advanced courses that represent their interests and their individual educational pursuits (like French history taken in French or a sr yr Shakespeare capstone thesis for English, etc.) I write thorough course descriptions describing their courses and our school profile provides the details for our educational philosophy.