right arrow
Informational Message Stay on top of the information you need to navigate the admissions process amid the COVID-19 pandemic. We've got articles, videos and forum discussions that provide answers to all of your test prep, admissions and college search questions.   Visit our COVID-19 resource page.

Introducing Kai!
Your College Confidential guide bot.

Kai can provide tips and support as you research and apply to colleges, and explore majors and careers.

Chat with Kai
here, 24/7!

or Skip Forever

IMPORTANT NEWS: CC Forums are now in read-only mode as the team is working on the transition to a new, modern forum platform with enhanced features. We anticipate full service on the site to return by Friday, Nov. 27 at 2:00pm ET. Read more about this here!

How do they know?

SandroRodriguesSandroRodrigues 630 replies53 threads Member
edited February 2011 in International Students
Hello all,

I'm a high school graduate from Brazil and I've applied to 7 universities in the US for Fall 2011.

A peculiar doubt about the college admission process has recently come up and I would like you, if possible, to clear it up to me.

When applying to colleges in Brazil, one is supposed to inform a lot of specific numbers that show up in his/her ID. These numbers are the only piece of information that are used to crosscheck data when the applicant enrolls at the school (make sure he/she is the owner of that certain application).

While working on my applications to American schools, however, I noticed that nothing but my own name, birth date and some other simple data built my personal information page.

Basically, my question is: how do colleges make sure I am I when I enroll and when I get to the university [phisically]? If they only look at these simple pieces of information such as name and birth date, how do they make sure that applications will all be prepared by the applicants themselves?