Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Where do I go from here?

Questioner200Questioner200 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
edited May 2012 in International Students
Hey,

Let me explain my situation.
I'm a Dutch student, and I'm now 21 years old, and for the past 2 years I've been going to Art school.
The reason I went to Art school (I don't know what it would be called in the US, but it's a college in the Netherlands) is basically, because I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life.
Before Art school, I attended one of the most prestigious highschools in the countries. I was during almost the entire 6 years, very unmotivated and didn't do very much. Even though I didn't do much, I still had a 7.7 avarage for my "end exam". (I don't know what the american equivalent score would be, but Oxford asks for an 8 avarage for most of their undergraduate courses). I got the 7.7 even though I practically didn't do much work until something like the last two months before the test.
That was who I was 2 years ago.
I have completely changed since then.
I now dropped out of Art school, because I am not fulfilling my ambitions or following my interests there.
Over the last two years I've developed a very strong interest in Economics and political science. I've become very ambitious, motivated and disciplined. I know for sure, that if I we're as motivated in highschool as I am now, I would have easily got a 9 avarage, which is very high.