Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

pre med in usa

arnav779arnav779 Registered User Posts: 13 New Member
edited August 2014 in International Students
Guys,
Im an international student planning to go for pre med in usa which college would be the best.average high school grades,hav'nt given SAT. budget-25k any scholarships.?
Please help
Thanks

Replies to: pre med in usa

• katliamomkatliamom Registered User Posts: 12,321 Senior Member
    There is no such thing as pre med. To get into medical school you must complete a series of science/math courses but you can study anything you want.

Are you aware that American medical schools admit almost no international students?

At a $25,000 per year budget, you would need considerable financial aid. With average high school grades that is unlikely.
  • b@r!um[email protected]!um Registered User Posts: 10,364 Senior Member
    With that budget you wouldn't be able to afford medical school in the US. (Colleges are relatively generous with scholarships and such, but you would have to pay completely out of pocket for medical school.)

Your better option would be to complete medical school in a different country and then come to the US for residency. There's a well-established path for foreign-educated medical studdents to obtain a medical license in the US and immigrate to work as physicians here.
  • artloversplusartloversplus Registered User Posts: 8,443 Senior Member
    Please search this topic on the pre-med forum in CC.