Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Polish student's paperwork problems

doopahdoopah Registered User Posts: 22 Junior Member
Hello, I'm a student from Poland applying to US colleges. I have some questions about the stuff I need from my school to be delivered to a college. As for the letters of recommendation, it's straightforward: I'll just ask my math teacher for one, and my english teacher to translate and write one of her own. But I have no idea where even to begin with all the other documents.
The info I found on different schools websites is inconsistent, does it mean that every college requires different stuff, or maybe they're just called different, but they're the same thing. We don't have a counsellor in Poland so it complicates things further, since some schools apparently require counsellor's letter too. Can anyone tell me what actually I need to supply? What should I do if my school doesn't have a counsellor? What's the difference between a school report and a school transcript? For the secondary school stuff do I have to go to my secondary school get something from them, or are the grades just fine?

Replies to: Polish student's paperwork problems

• merc81merc81 Registered User Posts: 8,733 Senior Member
    edited November 4
    You would benefit from assembling all the pieces you can (with help from CC). For latter stages, your colleges of interest, once identified, will assist you. These schools will welcome your interest, understand your obstacles, and have the experience to help you.