Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

cheap colleges that are easy to get into

mellow18mellow18 Registered User Posts: 4 New Member
hey so im looking for a college that is cheap and easy to get into. im an international student and ive been searching for what seems like forever so please if anyone knows a college like the one im looking for feel free to tell me..

Replies to: cheap colleges that are easy to get into

• austinmshauriaustinmshauri Registered User Posts: 7,545 Senior Member
    Colleges that are inexpensive either give great need or merit based aid, making them super competitive to get into, or they're close enough to the student's home to make commuting possible. Do you have anything like that close to home?
  • MusakParentMusakParent Registered User Posts: 687 Member
    edited November 9
    I do not agree with the person above me. It's a relatively small number of people who are able to cash in on meets need schools or get large amounts of merit aid. However, there are different college search strategies you should use depending on your stats and finances. Shopping as an international student is different as well because not all schools treat international students the same in terms of financial aid. If the FA works for you, go for it but shop carefully.

Off the top of my head, I'd look at smaller directional state schools. Wisconsin has a good and affordable state system with a number of good options. I know people who've gone on to excellent grad programs from these smaller state schools.