right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

MHC vs University of Glasgow for intl student

flidflid 217 replies17 threads Junior Member
edited April 2009 in International Students
Hi! I'm an international student and I've been accepted to both Mount Holyoke College and University of Glasgow.

I know they are two extremely different schools, but there are aspects I like about both...

Mount Holyoke:
Pros:
Quite well-respected LAC
I don't have to settle on a major jet
I like its small classes and supportive environment
I also like that I don't have to worry about cooking etc
I have been dreaming about studying in the US for years...

Cons:
While I can pay for it, I also have to take loans. When I graduate, I'd be $20000 in debt (+$12000 from my local bank I'd take either way)
It's a women's college, I'm not sure if it's for me
Quite small, located in a small town
Not much reputation outside US

University of Glasgow
Pros:
Quite prestigious in Europe
Closer to home
I'd get a single room
More people
Wonderful city
Great academics (I'll major in Political Science)
Don't have to pay tuition
Better job options for the future

Cons:
The living costs are about $1000/per month, I have only about $700 for one month, so I'd have to work (I have to work in MHC also)
I'd graduate with (only) $12000 in debt
Have to choose a major in the beginning

I don't know what to do...Which one would you choose?
I really appreciate your help!!!
edited April 2009
6 replies
Post edited by flid on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: MHC vs University of Glasgow for intl student

• luluzgluluzg 558 replies52 threads Member
    University of Glasgow simply coz i like europe better and love Scots
    · Reply · Share
  • fiona_fiona_ 1749 replies62 threads Senior Member
    MoHo's academics aren't that great, and I wonder how 'well-respected' it is. Even among LACs it's not that well-known...
    · Reply · Share
  • EdwinesqueEdwinesque 27 replies10 threads Junior Member