Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Do college graduates find jobs that they like, or at least in their field of interest?

ktsai91ktsai91 Registered User Posts: 142 Junior Member
Hello all, I graduated from college last May with a B.S. in Aviation Administration degree and also have an A.S. in Business Administration degree. I found employment with an air cargo company at a major airport but it was only a summer job and I also worked at the same place the summer before I graduated. I am now struggling to find a job in airport operations because I am very interested in working at an airport and aviation is what I studied in the last 2.5 years of college (other 2.5 years being business).

I am beginning to feel frustrated that I cannot find a job that I am looking for and that I would love to do.

Is it true that college graduates these days do not find jobs that they like or that is not what they studied in college? I am beginning to think that is true.

Replies to: Do college graduates find jobs that they like, or at least in their field of interest?

• ucbalumnusucbalumnus Registered User Posts: 72,141 Senior Member
    edited November 2014
    For pre professional majors, it depends on the labor market demand for graduates of those majors relative to the number of graduates in those majors and any substitutes.
  • GMTplus7GMTplus7 Registered User Posts: 14,567 Senior Member