Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Jazz musicians getting into Ivy League

Replies to: Jazz musicians getting into Ivy League

• mrtadashi1mrtadashi1 Registered User Posts: 35 Junior Member
    edited December 2017
    I'm a jazz musician myself, I play drums and bass. I haven't won any national awards, but my school sponsored my jazz band for an Africa Tour...we had 16 shows and a couple of jam sessions at colleges in Cape Town. I also have performed with grammy award and nominated winners..I got invited to a National jazz conference, and performed at Jazz at Lincoln Center.

I have a 3.6/4.0 GPA, 34 on ACT, 720 Math level 2, and 1490/1520 PSAT scores..do I have a chance?
  • piranhavatorpiranhavator Registered User Posts: 222 Junior Member
    @mrtadashi1 we seem to be in a similar situation. I was deferred from Harvard but who knows about the other ivys. I guess anything is possible; I think our acceptances depend on the needs of the institutions to which we are applying. For example, if Yale wanted to expand their jazz program, perhaps they would let in several jazz musicians.
  • classclown22classclown22 Registered User Posts: 3 New Member
    edited January 7